Carry On

I’m concerned, hearing more people talk about relaxing their covid regimes.

“Oh, it’s fine, I’ve met up with them before,” one woman I paused to talk with on my walk said about her plan to spend Christmas with sixteen family members from three states, in a rental house in Oregon.

“We saw each other in August.”

“But isn’t the question what they’ve been doing since you met them?” I said. “It’s the going out and shopping, the kids at school, and doctor appointments…?”

She waved a dismissive hand. “It’ll be fine. We’re all family.”

“Well if you’re all masked that will help,” I say, letting my doubt show.

“It’s okay,” she says again, but looks away, and I don’t believe she’s saying they will all mask. “Masks, it’s so hard to find any that fit. Besides, you can’t live in fear.”

A quote at which I decide I don’t care any more. But now, hours later, I’m a bit ashamed. Of course I do care. Covid doesn’t distinguish between relatives or intentions, fear or bravado. It only wants opportunity. But I have a sad feeling that nothing I could say would take the shine off this woman’s plan with the lovely house in Oregon and her sixteen relatives from three states.

Please, friends, be careful. Don’t drop your guard. Don’t let the weariness of this strange and strained regime we try to follow get your guard down. We can still do this. And we must still care.

5 Comments

Filed under blog, experiences, health, medicine, science

5 responses to “Carry On

  1. We can’t be cavalier or paranoid — there is a happy medium of being careful and living — wear a mask, wash hands, maintain social distance….

  2. We live in an area with very few, none at the moment, Covid cases. It’s hard not to let our guard down or forget about it, but we do. Hand washing is one of the best defenses, and the dreaded mask. Happy Thanksgiving

  3. I often think of you with envy, and am so glad you take the time to energetically hike in nature and take remarkable photographs. At least we can enjoy your experiences vicariously!

Leave a comment