Two versions

Whenever I paint a scene for the second time I try very hard not to let the second version be influenced too much by the first. I do not let myself look at the first until I have decided the new painting is done. So here for your amusement (and mine) are two paintings separated by over a year, painted plein air of the same scene with the similar theme of coming home at evening in spring. The site is Sedgwick Ranch, one of the University of California Reserve System locations. I would have imagined them identical, but look– this is what really happens with the eye and heart translating.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

p1040571

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Two versions

  1. They’re both beautiful.

  2. Thank you, Janet. I’m preparing for a show in April, and the encouragement is much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

