Several images, same place, slightly altered viewpoints

Late Summer HIlls 1993.JPG

1320 The Repeating Hills.jpg

 

hills #177 copy.JPG

425 late sumer hills.JPG

Hills Hills Hills 2011 2.jpg

Every time, I see it differently. Every time I fancy that the painting might be too much the same, too like a predecessor. But here’s the fun– I even seem to change the number of hills! How they lie, how they feel depends upon something far more subjective than the physics of how light can strike a slope. This scene by the way is North of King City CA on one of the county roads. The painting immediately above this text would show you the outlines of the Pinnacles if I had turned a few degrees to my right. And yes, before you ask, I have more paintings of this area still, though all of the above have sold. Maybe some day I shall share the full suite on this blog. I wonder what happened to the very first one I did back about 1990. It was a small painting, something like ten by fourteen inches before I became emboldened about my long formats. Maybe some day I will see that one again and assess the full course. Maybe, however, I shall never cease from pursuing these hills!

2 Comments

Filed under painting

2 responses to “Several images, same place, slightly altered viewpoints

  1. I love your art. Even though I like them all, the green hills is my favorite.

Leave a Reply

