Persimmon Cookies

P1030348.JPG

I lost my recipe, but there squatted two persimmons on the counter, so ripe they bulged translucent. Fuyus from my tree, the first to get really ripe. Now it is sadly true that I don’t like persimmons very much– I find them too sweet to eat, so I decided I had to reinvent the recipe. I think this one might be better, actually!

Here’s the result:

Robin’s Second Version of Persimmon cookies

1 cup butter

1 1/2 cups brown sugar

1 egg

1/2 tsp vanilla

three drops butter rum

1 teaspoon lemon juice

Cream the above butter and sugar together then add the next four ingredients. Separately sift together, then mix in:

2 1/2 c flour

3/4 tsp bkg soda

3/4 tsp bkg powder

1/2 tsp salt

pinch cloves

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

2 heaping tsps psyllium husk (optional, but I like to up the fiber)

Last, mix in:

1 cup persimmon pulp

Bake fat dollops of the dough in an over preheated to about 350 Farenheit. Cook only to just done, still very tender and moist.

 

2 Comments

Filed under food

2 responses to “Persimmon Cookies

  1. Mmm, looks good. Too bad I don’t know where to get a persimmon.

  2. Janet, I guess it’s a bit of a drive! Otherwise I’d offer…

Leave a Reply

